South Shields FC can now confirm its retained list following the conclusion of the 2017/18 Evo-Stik North Division season.

The release of the retained list follows the arrivals of former Darlington defenders Gary Brown and Chris Hunter, who are the Mariners’ only summer signings so far.

The following players have been retained by the club: Craig Baxter, Robert Briggs, Anthony Callaghan, Gavin Cogdon, Liam Connell, Carl Finnigan, Darren Lough, Lee Mason, Dillon Morse, Matty Pattison, Jon Shaw and Barrie Smith.

The club remains in discussions with the following players: Stephen Ramsey, Michael Richardson and Louis Storey.

The following player has left the club after the conclusion of his loan spell: Paul Woolston.

The following player has decided to retire from football: Julio Arca.

The following players have been released: Jamie Holmes, Aksel Juul, Alex Nicholson and Luke Sullivan.

The following player has been placed on the transfer list: Graeme Armstrong.

The club would like to express its sincere thanks to all players who are leaving the club, and wishes them well for the future.