South Shields will kick-off life in the Evo-Stik Premier Division with a home match against previous FA Cup opponents Witton Albion on Saturday, August 18.

The fixtures for the 2018-19 season were released by the league on Thursday morning.

The Mariners were handed an opening day rematch with Witton, who they defeated 2-0 in the first qualifying round of the FA Cup last season.

Their second and third opponents are also familiar, with Shields facing two teams they came up against in last season’s FA Trophy.

Lee Picton and Graham Fenton’s side will visit Farsley Celtic on Tuesday, August 21 and host Stafford Rangers on Saturday, August 25.

The Mariners will complete their August schedule with a trip to North Ferriby United – who were relegated from the National League North last term – on Monday, August 27.

Among the other standout fixtures in the first half of the season is Shields’ match away to Whitby Town on Saturday, November 3.

The festive period will see the Mariners host Gainsborough Trinity on Saturday, December 22, travel to Scarborough Athletic on Boxing Day and take on North Ferriby at Mariners Park on New Year’s Day.

Easter Saturday, on April 20, sees Shields go to Stafford, with their final home game to come on Easter Monday against Scarborough.

The Mariners will complete their league fixtures away to Gainsborough on Saturday, April 27.

South Shields’ first Ebac Northern League Division One fixture of the forthcoming campaign will be away to Dunston UTS on Tuesday, August 9.

The fixture list for the 2016-17 season were announced on Saturday morning, and Shields will play their first eight games away from home while work on the pitch is completed.

The first Saturday match of the league season sees the Mariners travel to Consett on August 13, while Shields will not play at Mariners Park until Tuesday, September 6, against Washington.

The traditional August Bank Holiday Monday fixture will see the Mariners make the long trip to Penrith on August 29, with the reverse fixture to take place at Mariners Park on Boxing Day.

The South Tyneside derbies against Jarrow Roofing will take place on Tuesday, September 27 (home) and Saturday, January 21 (away).

Meanwhile, the eagerly anticipated games against North Shields are scheduled for Saturday, November 5 (home) and Saturday, April 8 (away).

Shields are due to complete the season with a trip to Guisborough Town on Saturday, April 22.

The full fixture list is as follows:

Tuesday, August 9: Dunston UTS (A)
Saturday, August 13: Consett (A)
Tuesday, August 16: Newton Aycliffe (A)
Saturday, August 20: West Auckland Town (A)
Tuesday, August 23: Seaham Red Star (A)
Saturday, August 27: Chester-le-Street Town (A)
Monday, August 29: Penrith (A)
Saturday, September 3: Whitley Bay (A)
Tuesday, September 6: Washington (H)
Tuesday, September 13: Marske United (A)
Saturday, September 17: Newcastle Benfield (H)
Saturday, September 24: Shildon (A)
Tuesday, September 27: Jarrow Roofing (H)
Saturday, October 1: Sunderland RCA (H)
Tuesday, October 4: West Allotment Celtic (H)
Saturday, October 8: Ashington (H)
Saturday, October 15: Morpeth Town (A)
Saturday, October 22: Ryhope CW (H)
Saturday, October 29: Bishop Auckland (A)
Saturday, November 5: North Shields (H)
Saturday, November 12: West Allotment Celtic (A)
Saturday, November 19: Guisborough Town (H)
Saturday, November 26: Dunston UTS (H)
Saturday, December 3: Newton Aycliffe (H)
Saturday, December 10: Seaham Red Star (H)
Saturday, December 17: Washington (A)
Monday, December 26: Penrith (H)
Saturday, January 7: Whitley Bay (H)
Saturday, January 14: Marske United (H)
Saturday, January 21: Jarrow Roofing (A)
Saturday, January 28: Consett (H)
Saturday, February 4: West Auckland Town (H)
Saturday, February 11: Chester-le-Street Town (H)
Saturday, February 18: Newcastle Benfield (A)
Saturday, February 25: Shildon (H)
Saturday, March 4: Sunderland RCA (A)
Saturday, March 11: Ashington (A)
Saturday, March 18: Morpeth Town (H)
Saturday, March 25: Ryhope CW (A)
Saturday, April 1: Bishop Auckland (H)
Saturday, April 8: North Shields (A)
Saturday, April 22: Guisborough Town (A)

*Supporters can see all 21 league fixtures at Mariners Park by purchasing a season ticket! They cost £99 for adults, £70 for concessions and £25 for under-16s. To book, call 0191 454 7800 or pop into Mariners Park.*

fixtures better