Mariners issue retained list ahead of 2019-20 season

Mariners issue retained list ahead of 2019-20 season

South Shields Football Club can now confirm its retained list for the 2019-20 season.

Eleven players have left Mariners Park following the expiration of their contracts, including club legend Barrie Smith, who has decided to retire.

Smith departs after a terrific nine-year spell with Shields which saw him play 323 times, score 20 goals and win six trophies.

He will be remembered as a player who never gave anything less than 100% for the cause, had time for everyone and stuck by the club during one of the darkest periods in its history.

Barrie and his family will always be welcome at Mariners Park.

The departures of Connor Bell, Anthony Callaghan, Gavin Cogdon, Carl Finnigan and Ben Harmison were confirmed over recent weeks.

We can now confirm that former academy products Dan Lowther and Karl Ross, as well as three of last season’s contracted Under-19s players – David Allasan, Tom Bexton and Max Cowburn – have also left for pastures now.

The club would like to thank all players who have left us during the summer for their service and wish them well for the future.

Players retained for 2019-20:
Blair Adams
Craig Baxter
Robert Briggs
Gary Brown
Liam Connell
Luke Daly
David Foley
Josh Gillies
Callum Guy
Darren Lough
Nathan Lowe
Lee Mason
Dillon Morse
Ursene Mouanda
Jon Shaw
Arron Thompson
Phil Turnbull
Daniel Wright

New signings so far during the summer of 2019:
Adam Thurston

Players who have left the club ahead of 2019-20:
David Allasan
Connor Bell
Tom Bexton
Anthony Callaghan
Gavin Cogdon
Max Cowburn
Carl Finnigan
Ben Harmison
Dan Lowther
Karl Ross
Barrie Smith