Countdown continues to new Evo-Stik League season

Countdown continues to new Evo-Stik League season

The fixtures for the new Northern Premier League season will come out at 9am on Thursday, July 13.

South Shields will compete in Division One North following their promotion from the Northern League last time out.

The first game of the new league season will take place on Saturday, August 12.

Shields will return for pre-season training on Saturday, July 1, with their first friendly to follow two weeks later, at home to Gateshead.

Of the squad which won the quadruple with the Mariners last season, so far only David Foley and Wayne Phillips have left the club, for Spennymoor Town and Morpeth Town respectively. We wish both players all the very best for the future and thank them for a terrific two seasons with the Mariners.

Liam Connell, Craig Baxter, Barrie Smith, Dillon Morse, Jon Shaw, Anthony Callaghan, Robert Briggs and Julio Arca have all committed their future to the club by signing new two-year deals, while Michael Richardson, Darren Lough, Alex Nicholson and Andrew Stephenson are also under contract.

Luke Sullivan and Matty Pattison have joined from Consett and Blyth Spartans respectively, while announcements on the rest of the squad will follow in due course.